THE MUTUAL MAN.

Standard

We just sat there staring blankly at each other. It seemed like sitting there – in silence – had become more of our common hobby. I wish you knew how we used to talk all and every evening we happened to be out at this place. As I said – it’s all but a wish.

Fate had thrown us into a new life. Did I say FATE? Ok, Maybe, Maybe not. But since neither Suzanne° nor I was ready to take the blame, well, let the defence-less, mouth-less and emotion-less fate take it for us – for the time being.

‘Let us continue as before’ my mind, not mouth, was at work. I couldn’t talk because she was the one on the wrong. ‘I want to be close to you as before’ her eyes were telling me. MAN .The bone of contention. MAN. The seed of hatred. MAN. The bond breaker.

Whoever knew that we could share so much in life! Whoever knew that we would not just have mutual friends but also a MUTUAL MAN!?! A mutual man not in the name of a brother, father, uncle or grandfather! Hell no!

Let’s rewind the will of fate just abit.

2012.

Freshers’ Night.

“Ponyoka na Fresher”, “Kwachua Fresher”, “Fresher Pap”, “Vurumisha Fresher”…etc. The list was endless. As endless as the freshers. Whether you were Vurumishwad, Kwachuliwad or Kamatwad it didn’t matter. The television industry was to blame or praise for the numerous names and phrases used on freshers. I don’t have to tell you that I was Kwachuliwad because you should be knowing.

I don’t want to tell you that I danced for the first time in a crowd! It was mad fun. Never had I seen myself dancing half naked. Oh! Pervert me! Sorry, I meant half clothed! Huh! A glass of water: do we say half full or half empty?

Freshers’ Night.

00:00 hours.

What in hell was I doing awake at this time? I wished I was still in high school so that I could read hard and get the A that eluded me. Wishes will never be horses – maybe in the tenth planet. In high school, evening preps ended at 10:00 pm but by that time I was already snoring on my locker. How strange!! Now, I had the freedom to sleep at 6:00 pm, but I was still awake at midnight!

Suzanne.

She was taken by some random man – random before I met him. Hehehe. Crush. Blush. Information is power, ignorance is a bliss. Stupidity is safe but love is a sword.

‘Random guy’ spend that night with Suzanne. Don’t ask me what they did. Don’t mention virgins unless you are referring to Mary the mother of Jesus. As for Suzanne and I, don’t you ever mention ‘virgin’ and our names in the same sentence. It’s an abomination. Oops! I just did it! But is it a crime to be or not to be? Cast the first stone if you are …

This world is strange! “What are you talking about? ” Suzanne asked me. I’d drifted away that I had even forgotten her presence. Strange. “Nothing. Never mind”, that’s what I said but not what I meant.

“Okey” is what she said.

Back to 2012. After Freshers’ Night.

I met Oliver. Charming. Exciting. Attractive. Creative. Well built. Blood shot eyes. Composed. Knowledgeable. Provocative. All this, I discovered within one hour. Before I knew it, I was in his bed.

And that is the bone of contention,
The mutual man
Who’s going to let go?
Something worth laughing at,
Something worth crying for
Something worth the silence;
But not worth our friendship
I am the one
Who stole my best friend’s
Best friend in bed.
My name is Linda.

7 responses »

  1. I would like to show thanks to the writer just for rescuing me from this particular matter. As a result of looking out through the search engines and obtaining thoughts that were not helpful, I assumed my entire life was gone. Existing devoid of the strategies to the problems you’ve fixed by way of your website is a critical case, as well as those that would have in a negative way damaged my career if I hadn’t come across your blog. The skills and kindness in taking care of every item was priceless. I am not sure what I would have done if I hadn’t come across such a solution like this. I’m able to now look forward to my future. Thanks very much for the high quality and results-oriented help. I won’t hesitate to refer your web page to anyone who would need counselling about this issue.

  2. Pingback: A Loveless Passionate Evening | Magazinereel | The Other Side of Life

  3. Ummmm….the poetry at the end is what captured my mind. The rest of the story was long..about a sizzly topic that needed a bit of exaggeration and umph. But the poetry was straight to the heart.

Please Leave a Comment

