SAME SCRIPT DIFFERENT ACTORS …

Standard

It has reached a point in time at Egerton University where men and women come out to tell others why they should be elected to the coveted and equally Tated SUEU .Nevertheless, there are a number of questions I keep asking myself about these familiar and unfamiliar faces I see on banners, posters and even calenders all over.

To start with; what is so different about them? We have witnessed time and again people come to us for votes promising manna and quills but when they are elected, they direct the manna and quills to their stomachs. You must be in their inner circles to benefit. For instance, one promises to ensure transparency and efficiency in the accommodation process, we elect them to the docket but who benefits? Only two classmates, his girlfriend or her boyfriend and four other who helped them pin the posters all over. They get rooms in Tatton A, Riverview A, Lavingtone and Runda come next semester. Did s/he get elected by six votes? No! How will the rest of the Comrades who voted him get accommodated? They have to struggle.

Secondly, what is so different about their policies? Isn’t it a situation of ‘samr script different characters’? Everywhere I go, I feel like I’m reading last year’s election campaign posters and manifestoes! I don’t get anything new on those posters except for the faces and names. Were we not promised streamlining and computerizing the registration process? What about improved accommodation for everybody? Maybe am wrong but most of this year’s campaign statements are the old things our ears are tired of hearing while our eyes are yet to see.

Thirdly, what’s so unique about guys who are running on tribal names and popularity? Oh! I get it now! They are promising their tribesmen and women rooms in Lavingtone and Runda. What about the Comrade who voted for him but has only four tribesmen in this institution? Will he continue staying in Rwenzori or Hollywood? Not that the two are the worst hostels to stay in! Or will they be forced to stay off-campus? Well, ponder on.

Integrity of the contestant is far much better than his tribe. I’d rather vote for somebody from a marginalized community; somebody with no tribesman in the campus but with unmatched integrity and a vision than somebody whose tribe is the majority but with nothing to offer.

Assess the candidates on the basis of what they have in store for the student population. Go for SMART offers instead of popular mmumbo-jambo.

For me, I am looking for a leader who will fast-track constitutional review process. Someone who will ensure that students who reside off-campus elect their representative to SUEU.

I am looking for a leader who can walk the talk. One who can and is ready to put an end to the ‘puppet life’ of SUEU. SUEU is currently dancing to the strings of the School Administration. That’s why it endorses policies that harm the students. It’s not representing students interests anymore.

How do we get there? Through registering SUEU with the Central Organization for Trade Unions as a trade union. I believe we have the capacity and ability to do that. All we lack is LEADERSHIP GOODWILL.

Anybody who can stand up to the challenge?

6 responses »

  1. I agree totally, sth I believe is that this revolution will never be fostered by SUEU leaders . we the majority like our old grandparents should advocate for a change.SUEU should be a recognized union in office of the AG.

  2. Howdy I am so grateful I found your web site, I really found you
    by accident, while I was looking on Askjeeve for something else, Regardless I am here now and would just
    like to say cheers for a fantastic post and a all round exciting blog (I
    also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all at the moment but I have bookmarked
    it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have
    time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep
    up the excellent work.

Please Leave a Comment

